​One of the most important ways parents/guardians and community members can make a meaningful difference for students is by participating on the school council. Under the Education Act, a school council is a collective association designed to advise the principal and the CBE Board of Trustees on matters related to the school. School councils have legislated advisory. They are different from Parent Societies & Associations, whose main function is to raise funds for the school.​​ You can find more details in the CBE School Council Handbook​.​

School Council

As a parent/guardian of a child attending Janet Johnstone School, you are automatically a member of the School Council (JJSC). The Council consists of parents, teachers and community members who are eager to help guide and provide meaningful feedback on our children’s educational experiences, both in the school and on the school grounds and to make suggestions for how to make our children’s school experience the best it can be.

We also work alongside the Friends of Janet Johnstone School Association (FJJSA), which is the incorporated non-profit society responsible for fundraising. One of our responsibilities is to advise the school on how to allocate these fundraising dollars. Our goal is to enhance our children’s learning experiences and opportunities they would otherwise not be able to receive. We work together with the school administration to discuss purchases to be sure we are spending the fundraising dollars wisely.

Meeting Dates/Schedule

To help plan ahead, mark your calendars!  Meetings are always the second Tuesday of the month at 6:30 pm.  All meetings for the 2022/24 school year will be held at the school with an online link for those that can't attend in person.  Please watch the weekly Week at a Glance for information about the meetings.

Please note: baby sitting will be provided free of charge.

September 12, 2023

October 10, 2023

November 21, 2023 (later in the month due to Fall Break)

No December Meeting

January 16, 2024

February 13, 2024

March 12, 2024

April 9, 2024

May 14, 2024

June 11, 2024

Our School Council Members

Chair: Michelle Wong  michellewong@shaw.ca
Vice Chair: Lyanne Vlodarchyk  lyanne_m@hotmail.com
Secretary: Corrine Maher corinnemaher53@gmail.com

Key Communicator:  Chelsea McKishne chelts3@hotmail.com
Volunteer Coordinators:  Jocelyn Gelinas  jocelyn.k.gelinas@gmail.com     

                                           Laura Bailey laurabailey2010@gmail.com

Last modified on