Please visit our COVID-19 page for the most up-to-date information. Our plan is subject to change throughout the school year as more information becomes available.​

One of the most important ways parents/guardians and community members can make a meaningful difference for students is by participating on the school council. Under the School Act, a school council is a collective association designed to advise the principal and the CBE Board of Trustees on matters related to the school. School councils have legislated advisory and decision-making authority. They are different from Parent Societies & Associations, whose main function is to raise funds for the school.​​ You can find more details in the CBE School Council Handbook​.​​​​

School Council

Alexander Ferguson’s School Council and Society are parent organizations that support AFS staff in offering excellent programming for our students. There are so many ways for parents to participate, and, whether you have a little or a lot of time to share, we hope that you will be involved in our school community.

All parents are very welcome to attend Council and Society meetings to learn more about what is happening in our school and share ideas. Please watch for highlights about Council and Society happenings and volunteer opportunities in our newsletter, The Scoop, which will be sent to you by email.

2020-21 Meeting Dates

October 28th Council AGM 6:30pm with Society AGM to follow

November 25th Council Meeting, 6:30pm Society Meeting to follow

January 27th Council Meeting, 6:30pm, Society Meeting to follow

February 24th Council Meeting Only, 6:30pm

April 28th Council Meeting, 6:30pm, Society Meeting to follow

May 26th Council AGM, 6:30pm, Society AGM to follow

June 16th Council Meeting 6:30pm, Society Meeting to follow.

Our School Council Members

All parents of students attending Alexander Ferguson School are School Council Members

Chairperson: Amy Maglio
Vice Chair: Jaclyn St. Louis
Key Communicator: OPEN (Volunteer position available)
Secretary: Mark McQuiston
Principal: Hildegard Bensler/Sherry Goldenberg (Acting)
Teacher Representative: Tianna Melnyk
Grade 6 Farewell: OPEN
Hat & Mitten Tree: Cami Silver-Bowerman
Kindergarten Representative: OPEN (AM), OPEN (PM)
Lost & Found: OPEN
Newsletter Editor: OPEN
Parent-Teacher Conference Potluck: OPEN
Fun Lunches: Jill Pelton
Hot Lunches (weekly): Alie Ronellenfitch
Welcome Back Event: OPEN
Welcome Package: OPEN

Winter Celebration Bake Sale: OPEN
Traffic Liaison: Blair Best
Community Liaisons: Laurel Halladay (Killarney), Megan McQuiston (Shaganappi)

Bottle Depot Fundraiser: Jill Pelton

Contact the School Council


Last modified on