Fine & Performing Arts

The fine and performing arts are for everyone, whether you choose to explore and develop a new interest or specialize in a current interest. Participation in the arts enhances your creativity, critical thinking and problem-solving abilities. 

Fine and Performing Arts Has Many Opportunities

Visual Arts

  • Art
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing
  • Painting
  • Sculpting
  • Professional Development in the Arts

Dance

  • Dance
  • Ballet
  • Contemporary Dance
  • Jazz Dance
  • Dance Composition
  • Professional Development in the Arts

Drama

  • Drama
  • Advance Acting & Touring Theatre
  • Directing
  • Film Studies
  • Musical Theatre
  • Technical Theatre
  • Professional Development in the Arts

Music

  • Instrumental Music - Band
  • Instrumental Music - Strings
  • Chamber Music
  • Instrumental Jazz
  • Choral Music - Choir
  • Chamber Choir
  • Vocal Jazz
  • Professional Development in the Arts

Yoga

Yoga 15/25 will safely introduce students to the foundational practice of yoga.  Whether you want an opportunity to cross condition as an athlete, enjoy movement in your day, or reap the benefits of the stress management and relaxation; this course is designed to give a well-rounded approach toward all aspects of yoga.  Students will learn basic postures (asanas), breathing techniques and relaxation methods that will benefit individuals on and off the mat. This course will allow students to build on their flexibility, strength, cardio, focus, and mindfulness. Students have the opportunity to practice different styles of yoga including: Restorative, Yin, Iyengar, Flow, Yoga Fusion, and more. Through a variety of projects, students will also learn the historical roots and the science behind yoga. A basic understanding of anatomy, physiology, and injury prevention will be explored as to how it applies to the discipline and other physical activities. The Yoga program is for all students who would like to focus on their overall wellness.

Yoga 35 offers an opportunity for students to continue to explore the multiple benefits of yoga and how it contributes to our overall well-being.




Contacts

Nathan Gingrich, Music – Band/Jazz (Learning Leader) ntgingrich@cbe.ab.ca

Monique Olivier, Music - Choir mcolivier@cbe.ab.ca

Daniel Brown, Music – Strings dfbrown@cbe.ab.ca

Sharon Marriott, Visual Arts SDMarriott@cbe.ab.ca

Charlotte Jacobson, Dance cajacobson@cbe.ab.ca

Shanley Owen, Yoga smowen@cbe.ab.ca

Brenda Griffin, Drama begriffin@cbe.ab.ca

Last modified on

Abe Staff Farewell to Class of 2022: https://t.co/sE0aRkPQjD

#Classof2022 Processional https://t.co/eLgeSE6TJv

Zoe Isabela A.I. , Class Reflection, and Annika J., Valedictorian! https://t.co/ovbpyMnk7R